Nov 3, 2016 – El Nido A.K.A. “the Nest”

dsc_7657

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskNFW161

We finally arrived in El Nido around 1:00 pm after a 6 hour van ride!

The weather was a little rainy (not exactly what we expected), but the small beach town still looked amazing. The weather was constantly changing and would turn from cloudy to rainy to sunshine and repeat. I loved seeing all the brightly coloured catamaran boats dotting the water. The sand is gorgeous. The water, warm and inviting.

Franki, Ranah, and I walked along the beach and booked our “Tour A” for the following day. It includes a boat tour of Small Lagoon, Big Lagoon, Secret Lagoon, Papaya Beach, and another beach (I forget the name). The original price was 1200 Pecos per person but I haggled it down to 900 Pecos per person and cut the environmental fee in half to 100 P each.

Afterwards, Franki, Ranah, and I stopped for lunch at a restaurant on the beach and had the best mango juice I have ever tasted! Ranah and I also split a delicious seafood pizza while Franki got a burger.

Just before the sun set behind the clouds, we went for a short walk along the coast and strolled through some of the expensive villas.

As a side note: there are ATMs located in El Nido, contrary to what my Lonely Planet guide says.

Leave a comment