May 24, 2017 – Tam Coc and Trang An

Cave

A Cave on my Tour of Tam Coc

See more photos here.

I rented a motorbike from my homestay and arrived at the pier around 7:00am to catch a boat around Tam Coc. It costed 270,000 Vietnamese Dong because I was the only person in the boat. It was great starting in the early morning because I got some great photos of the rice fields and surrounding limestone mountains. Additionally, I got some great reflection shots of the water. I found it really interesting that the boat driver used his feet to paddle the boat forwards. I didn’t see too much wildlife, just some goats.

Trang An Landscape Complex is a Unesco World Heritage Site. It is composed of spectacular limestone karst peaks, approximately 8 caves, and archaeological traces of human activity from over 30,000 years ago. The two hour boat trip was 200,000 Vietnamese dong and well worth it!

When I was leaving Trang An, I put my key into the keyhole of my motorbike, and it got jammed and would not start. I noticed that someone had purposely put a twig in the keyhole. Earlier, I had decided that 15,000 dong for parking was way too much and had just parked off the highway instead. I suspect the parking attendant or an accomplice of his had put the twig in my bike. After unsuccessfully removing the twig, I called my homestay and they came to pick me up in less than 20 minutes. They also took care of replacing the lock which I greatly appreciated. I learned my lesson that in Vietnam, one should always use parking facilities.

Leave a Reply

