Feb 24, 2017 – Learning to Cook Thai Food in Chiang Mai

veg

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskRH79Pj

Ever since taking a cooking class in Bali, Indonesia with Franki and Ranah, I have been keen to try one again! Clearly my heart and stomach are on the same page.

My mom and I found a tour agent that we liked so we booked a half day cooking course at MaMaNoi Thai Cookery School through her for 750 bhat each. It also included a short local market visit to explain about the different ingredients used. We got to look at and touch miniature eggplants (the size of a lime), different varieties of ginger, chili peppers, etc.

The van then drove our small group of ten to a small farm with a beautiful garden about 15 minutes outside of Chiang Mai. Most of the participants in our class were from North America. We had the option of choosing one stir fry, one soup, and one curry and then either spring rolls or Cha-Yen (Iced Thai Tea). I chose pad Thai (Thai style fried noodles), tom-kar-gai (chicken in coconut milk), and green curry.  My mom chose the pad Thai, tom yum kung (hot and sour prawn soup), and gang penang (panang curry). As a group, we decided to make iced thai tea.

Our cooking instructor had a great sense of humour and was a lot of fun. She always said, “How sexy you are you? The hotter you make your food the sexier you are!” All of the food was delicious and I was so full I couldn’t finish all my food. Overall, it was a great experience and I’m glad that I got to share it with my mom!

Leave a Reply

