Feb 22, 2017 – Temples and Monk Chats in Chiang Mai

temple

A Temple at Wat Phra Singh

See more photos here: https://www.flickr.com/gp/140043503@N03/0g4hz6

After applying for my 30 day E-tourist visa for India, my mom and I stumbled upon “The Square” café and I had the best iced Thai tea there that I have ever tasted. My mom got a mocha and enjoyed it so much that she went back and got another one right after she finished the first!

The first temple we visited was Wat Phra Singh. It is a large Buddhist temple with outstanding architecture. It houses three main structures, the main attraction being the elegantly decorated Lai Kam assembly hall and its restored murals depicting the lives of locals hundreds of years ago.

The second temple we visited was Wat Chedi Luang. It is a 600 year old pagoda, the tallest in Thailand Lanna Kingdom. The current temple grounds were originally made up of three temples — Wat Chedi Luang, Wat Ho Tham and Wat Sukmin. One of my favourite parts of Wat Chedi Luang are the shrubs that are pruned and manicured into the shape of elephants!

On the grounds of Wat Chedi Luang is a specific area is set up to chat with Buddhist monks! This was a great way for my mom and I to learn more about Buddhism, the daily lives of monks, and Thai culture. The monk we chatted with spoke English very well and was easy to talk to. I was a little nervous because I had never talked to a monk before. This was one of my favourite experiences in Thailand and I am going to look for more monk chats around South East Asia because I have so many more questions!

Leave a Reply

