Feb 11, 2017 – My Birthday on Koh Phangan!

dinner

My Birthday Dinner at Fisherman’s Restaurant & Bar

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskSB8QLY

I couldn’t have asked for anything more for my birthday. I was surrounded by friends and family in tropical paradise! Franki, Ranah, my Mom, and I all rendezvoused at the Coconut Monkey Café on Koh Tao for breakfast. I had yogurt, granola, and fruit with a ginger tea. It was delicious! I opened my card and found out that all my best friends and brothers had pitched in to get me Adobe Lightroom! I have wanted this program for a couple years and was sick of creating multiple email accounts to have access to the 30 day free trial.

After breakfast, Ranah and Franki caught the ferry from Kho Tao to Koh Phangan. My mom and I did a bit of shopping and bought new swimsuits before boarding our ferry.

On Koh Phangan, my mom and I checked Infinity Hostel… which is the nicest hostel I’ve been to. It really felt like a hotel with its large pool and beautiful beachfront. The only downfall was the house music playing every night until 1:00am and the expensive restaurant onsite. Good thing there are cheaper restaurants on the main road (only a ten minute walk away).

In the evening, Franki and Ranah met my mom and I at the Fisherman’s Restaurant & Bar, an upscale beachfront restaurant recommended by Lonely Planet. I got the small seafood platter with crab (the first crab I’ve had in South East Asia), mussels, grilled squid, and fish. It was accompanied by three delicious sauces. It was to die for!! My mom got the famous crab curry. Ranah and Franki’s dishes were also amazing! I have nothing but good things to say about the Fisherman’s Restaurant & Bar.

Later that evening we went to the famous “Jungle Party” which is a pre-event for the Full Moon Party. It was held inland, in the middle of a forest. There were about 3000 people there and we enjoyed our first buckets of alcohol! I got one with Sangsom rum. The party was quite expensive, 600 baht to enter and buckets were 350 baht each. The DJ booth was ginormous and they had dancers on the stage with smoke and lights. On another side of the event grounds was a Muay Thai boxing ring. Junior fighters were battled against one another which was very entertaining. We all had an amazing time!

Leave a Reply

