Feb 10, 2017 – Diving in Koh Tao

GOPR6100.JPG

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskSB6hEC

After a tasty beach-side breakfast at the Coconut Monkey, my mom and I headed to Scuba Bird’s dive shop and suited up. Our group headed towards Nang Yuan Island which is two small islands connected by a bridge of sand. From the dive boat, I could see that the island was attractive, even though it was overrun by tourists.  

I dived at both Japanese Garden and Twin Peaks around Nang Yuan Island. The diving was great and I saw lots of eels, stingrays, angle fish, etc. Both diving locations were shallow enough that my mom could go snorkeling (because she doesn’t dive). I enjoyed my dives, however, I was a little concerned about proper safety procedures being followed so I decided only to do two dives instead of four. I learned my lesson that the cheapest dive shop is not the way to go.

In the afternoon, my mom and I sat in the back of a pick-up truck to get to Aow Leuk Beach. We went snorkeling and found a shark about a meter long! Most of the beach is actually trucked in gravely sand with lawn chairs on top. There is only a small strip of natural sand leading to the water. The restaurants around it look inviting.

In the evening, I was excited to meet up with my best friends, Franki and Ranah, who had traveled from Bali to meet me. It was my birthday the next day and we planned to go to the fully moon party together Koh Phangan. My mom, Franki, Ranah, and I all caught up over dinner and Indian pancakes for dessert.

Leave a Reply

