Jan 30, 2017 – The Cable Car and Botanical Gardens of Singapore

32511650772_31c495dbac_o

The Singapore Cable Car

See more photos here: https://www.flickr.com/gp/140043503@N03/33dp3i

The Cable Car is a great way to see a different perspective of Singapore. According to the company, it is “the only Cable Car in the world that goes over a forest and highway, through an office building, over a cruise bay and into a resort island in 15 minutes”. Quite impressive if I do say so myself. I boarded the cable car on Sentosa Island and rode every different lines they had to offer. My last stop was Faber Peak, a popular scenic spot with a nice view. Beside the restaurant atop Faber Peak is a railing filled with hundreds of bells and one large bell that you can strike to receive good luck. It rained while I was at the top so I didn’t spend too much time there.

Once the rain stopped, I took the metro to the other side of the city to meander through the Botanical Gardens.  It was one of the largest parks/botanical gardens I have ever visited and it reminded me a little bit of Vancouver’s Stanley Park. I walked until I found the National Orchid Garden, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

I had never known that orchids are one of the most plentiful flowers in the world. Additionally, I also learned the difference between a bromeliad and epiphyte. According to one of the signs posted in the National Orchid Garden, “Bromeliads may be terrestrial (living on the ground), epiphytic (growing on the branches and trunks of other plants, or lithophytic (growing on bare rocks). Therefore, an epiphyte is a type of bromeliad. An example of a bromeliad is a pineapple plant.

It started raining again and I was incredibly grateful for the umbrella Melissa had lent me. Many people cleared out because of the rain but I was not deterred. It was a great chance to photograph some flowers with raindrops on them. I also viewed the “VIP Orchard Garden” which displays orchids named after famous people who had visited the orchard garden such as Nelson Mandela and Prince William.

As I was walking back to the metro I encountered a group of photographers with telephoto lenses. They were attempting to photograph a rare hornbill when it returned to its nest and hidden beside the nest sat  an adorable owl!

Leave a Reply

