Jan 27, 2017 – Singapore’s River Hongbao Festival!

32619623725_d70c71ee9e_o

River Hongbao Festival Fireworks Display at Marina Bay

See more photos here: https://www.flickr.com/gp/140043503@N03/D79gk4

I boarded my flight in Flores to start my journey to Singapore which included a stopover in Bali. In the air, I spotted several places that I had travelled to on Lombok, Nusa Penida, and Bali which was cool. Once I landed in Singapore, I found my bag, exchanged some cash, purchased a transit pass (a must-have in Singapore), and took off to find my hostel located half an hour away by public transit.

Once I arrived, I quickly checked in and headed downtown to The Float at Marina Bay to see the River Hongbao Festival. It was amazing to see everything lit up for Chinese New Year. The large scale lantern displays were terrific. Many stamps, balloons, lanterns, etc. had roosters on them because it is that animal’s year in the Chinese calendar.

I decided to try a shawarma and a tandoori chicken burger from the large amount of food vendors set up in the festival area under a large white tent. Both were okay, but not the best.

On the main stage overlooking the water, dancers, singers, and acrobats performed. For the grand finale a group of male gymnasts executed an amazing routine where they back-flipped through hoops of various heights. After that, the fireworks filled the air for about five. The event was a lot of fun and a great introduction to Singapore!

2 thoughts on “Jan 27, 2017 – Singapore’s River Hongbao Festival!

Leave a Reply

