Jan 17, 2017 – Finding Pink Beach or Tangsi Beach

dsc_2761-enhanced

Pink Beach (… or Not So Pink Beach)

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskTsEfjS

In the afternoon, I decided to motorbike to Pink Beach which is about 2 hours from Kuta, Lombok. The drive was spectacular and filled with rolling hills and beautiful small rice fields. Nevertheless, the road does get progressively rough and patchy as you near the beach. At one point there was so much mud, I seriously considered turning back. However, some other drivers were able to help me out and even carried my scooter over one section.

I had heard that Pink Beach would look its pinkest before 8:00am or after 4:00pm. However, when I arrived after 4:00 it was not as pink as I thought it would have been. I found it underwhelming. Thinking back, a lot of the images of pink beaches on google are heavily photo-shopped. However, I took a look closer and found that if you pick up the sand, it does have flecks of pink coral in it. Additionally, if you look as the sand where it meets the water, it does look pinker. Overall, I enjoyed the scooter ride there and back more than the beach. Unfortunately, it also started to rain shortly after I arrived, so I did not spend as much time there as I would have liked.

Leave a Reply

