Jan 14-15, 2017 –Surf’s Up!

dsc_2663

Selong Belanak Beach

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskN9rSBc

Mawan Beach is one of the most picturesque beaches in Kuta, Lombok. It’s ideal for relaxing and swimming. Mawan Beach’s only downfall is the children selling drinks and bracelets to you on the beach, but it can be fun to stop and chat with them for a while.

Afterwards, I visited Selong Belanak Beach which is perfect for beginner surfers! I got a private 1.5 hour lesson from Sali who was an awesome instructor! I have only surfed once before but I managed to stand up on my first try. By the end of my lesson, I was learning how to carve a bit. Selong Belanak reminded me of Tofino on Vancouver Island (which is also perfect for surfing). It’s super shallow and just spectacular. I enjoyed surfing so much I headed back to Selong Belanak the next day for more surfing and larger waves.

For dinner I had Kari Sasak from Sonya. It was one of the best curry dishes I have ever tried… so I went back 4 times during my stay to try out the rest of the menu. The Kari Sasak is still my favourite!

Leave a Reply

