Jan 13, 2017 – Beach Day in Kuta, Lombok

dsc_2555

Oxen Grazing with Mandalika Beach in the Background

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskN9qGyD

After the Big Tree Chocolate Factor Tour, my best friends (Ranah and Franki) split up. They decided to stay a month longer in Bali. I was determined to see more of Indonesia, headed east on my own. To get to Kuta I took their 24 hour bus-ferry-bus-ferry route which was exhausting.

It didn’t take me long to realize that Kuta, Lombok is a surfing town! Many of the scooters are outfitted with racks to transport surfboards and the town exudes a very laid back vibe. The many nearby beaches are excellent for relaxing and swimming, and certain ones are perfect for surfing!

I started off with Serenting Beach which is located on the way to Seger Beach. It has a long coastline with white sand. The beach is very quiet and not very popular among local and foreign travelers. I only saw a handful of people there which was great!

At Seger beach, I enjoyed sipping coconut water while watching many locals catch intermediate-sized waves and enjoy playing in the water. Next to the beach is “Sunset Hill” which is great to climb up and see the view from! I loved the cows grazing on the hill. There is something about seeing cows on or near a beach that makes me ridiculously happy. Most likely because that would never happen in Canada!

Afterwards, I went swimming at Mandalika Beach which is actually on the private property of Novotel Lombok Resort and Villas. The water was very shallow so it was a bit difficult to swim.

The last beach I went to was Tanjung Ann. It is a beautiful white beach but it is also very touristy. I didn’t spend too much time there because it was starting to get dark.

For dinner, I scootered up to Ashtari, which is one of the fanciest places in town. It advertises that it has a great sunset view. However, when I went there, the sun had set over a mountain already so you couldn’t see the entire sunset. Luckily, their pumpkin soup was delicious and not overly expensive!

Leave a Reply

