Dec 20, 2016 – The Cosmic Diner and 3D Dream Museum Zone in Kuta, Bali

dsc_0678

Escaping from a T-Rex at the 3D Dream Museum Zone

See more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskNNMrds

The city of Kuta is a touristy beachfront city in Bali for backpackers and partying. Franki was a little sick and Ranah just wanted to relax, so I decided to do some exploring on my own.

I strolled to the beach, but was disappointed to find garbage and plastic bottles engulfing the shore. It was the most debris I had ever seen covering a beach and no one was in the water. After talking to some locals, they try their best to clean it up, however, the sheer volume is too great. Apparently, a lot of the garbage from Java washes up on Kuta’s beach during the rainy season. During other parts of the year, the beach is completely fine.

I continued walking and finally found the Cosmic Diner! It’s a 1950s inspired restaurant serving milkshakes and burgers. I decided to break the bank and buy a large chocolate gelato milkshake served in a glass boot. It was one of the best milkshakes I’ve ever tasted. The burger I ordered was also delicious. I would definitely go back there again!

Near the Cosmic Diner is the “3D Dream Museum Zone”, a collection of 3D illusion art that you can interact with by placing yourself in the painting or artwork. The staff in every room that can help you take photos or you can switch off if you are with friends or family. It was a lot of fun and I wish my hometown of Vancouver had one.

In the evening, we went to Sky Garden, the most famous club in Kuta, which happened to be right across from our hostel. Its four floors and $15 to enter (but you get 2 free drinks). The rooftop section was the best and I enjoyed the music!

 

 

Leave a Reply

